BREAKING: Nigeria Super Eagles qualify for AFCON 2021

Congratulations to Nigeria as their darling team  Super Eagles have confirmed their place at 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), even before kick off of their first game against Benin Republic in Porto Novo at 5pm.

Nigeria have now become the 17th Africa team to snag a spot in the tournament following a goalless draw between Lesotho and Sierra Leone in the early kick-off in Group L.

Gernot Rohr’s side needed only a point in their own clash against Benin to seal progress but Lesotho’s home draw ensured passage.

Other African teams that have qualified are;

Cameroon (Host), Mali, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Gabon, Gambia, Egypt, Comoros, Algeria, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Morocco and Ivory Coast.

The Leone Stars now have four points after four matches, while their hosts have three, with one round of fixtures left.

Gernot Rohr’s men will on the Squirrels by 5pm West African Time with starting lineup as follows:

Okoye, Aina, Balogun, Ekong, Sanusi, Ndidi, Aribo, Onyekuru Chukwueze, Iheanacho, Osimhen.

%d bloggers like this: